The Polynesian at Christmas

After we  left the Grand Floridian we caught the next water taxi to the Polynesian Village Resort.

DSC_2045 copy

The Polynesian has been undergoing a complete makeover. The swimming pool has experienced upgrades and the Bora Bora Bungalows are scheduled to open soon.

boraBora

These are over – the -water accommodations just like the South Pacific but I’m getting off track.

We were just stopping there to see the decorations.

There was a modest tree in the lobby with tropical blooms.

DSC_2048 copy

Nearby a Tiki carving was gathering leis and offerings.

DSC_2052 copy

We had a light snack on the deck near the pool. Mine was a hot dog, an $8.59 hot dog.

hot dog

Even the snacks are expensive! A pair of ducks were begging from table to table. All of the signs said not to feed the wildlife but these guys were so tame they took  bits of food right out of your fingers.

DSC_2054 copy

Refreshed we grabbed the Monorail back to Hollywood Studios. As we headed to the Mono rail I couldn’t help but think that Disney had captured the essence of Hawaii.

 

About Dusty Roads

Single female of a "certain age", currently residing in New England with 1 cat. I enjoy traveling and documenting the world around me in words and pictures.
This entry was posted in Florida, flowers, Food, Holidays, Orlando and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Polynesian at Christmas

  1. Sandra Randall says:

    I like the Christmas tree and all the other sights. Yup it does remind me a bit of Hawaii.

  2. Thanks for posting the pictures! My husband and I visited WDW over Christmas and we made a quick visit to Poly to check it out in anticipation of bringing the kids over the summer. It’s a beautiful resort, especially all decked out for the holidays.

    • Dusty Roads says:

      It is. I think that would be my choice but The Wilderness Lodge looks nice too. I’ve seen the cabins they have and they are nice and roomy. I didn’t visit them this trip so no pictures.

      • I’ve heard from friends that The Wilderness Lodge is their top pick. It does look nice! My husband is also interested in The Contemporary ( he loves the monorail going through) and I’d love to stay at one of the Boardwalk resorts- specifically The Beach Club for the pool. We stayed off-site in Dec/Jan at the Omni Champion Gate and although it was very nice, I missed the proximity and magic of Disney. We bought Annual Passes, so we are waiting to see if any summer deals come out and that will probably sway our decision.

      • Dusty Roads says:

        I’d love to hear from you once you make a decision. I have a friend that works at Disney so If I can get any tips for you I will and pass them along

      • Thank you Dusty! We are still debating our options and waiting to see if summer discount offers will be released. I was told by a Disney travel agent to look for them mid-Spring.

      • Dusty Roads says:

        I’m sure a Disney Agent would know best.

Leave a comment