Brrrr Its Cold!

I’m not sure where all of you are from. I’m sure I’ve got some followers from  warm, sunny locations but here in New England winter has returned with a vengeance. Last week we had record high temps, beautiful spring weather. (Take that Punxsutawney Phil!) but the groundhog was right after all! This weekend brought an Arctic Blast that left us all shivering in our boots. High winds added to the cold temps by driving new record lows with the wind chill added in. Its been the coldest weekend of this winter.

punxsutawney-phil-01

To go along with the miserable cold, I caught a cold. I’ve done so well this year too! This development left me with a dilemma. I wanted to get out in the area to find some new things to tell you about but I was sneezing and felt miserable so I didn’t want to be out in the cold.

common-cold

I considered (very seriously) driving to Essex Junction, Vermont for the Vermont Flower show. It would be inside so I’d be warm and I thought we could all use some flowers to offset this cold blast.

flower-show

My hesitation came from the fact that it would be a 4 hour drive and this cold was kicking my butt. It had drained so much energy that every time I sat down for 5 minutes I fell asleep. So after much internal debate I took a pass. I spent the weekend bundled in a fluffy throw in my recliner watching travel programs. Or maybe I should say sleeping through travel programs.

cough-and-cold1-e1439792739538

(Sorry I can’t use a picture of me because my arm isn’t long enough for the selfie but this one pretty much sums it up)

I fell asleep watching a program about Hawaii only to wake up to Andrew Zimmern swallowing some horrible looking thing he consider food on an episode of “Bizarre Foods”. Sorry Andrew, I find your show extremely cringe-worthy.

images

To make sure the weekend wasn’t a total loss I signed up for a webinar at 3 pm on Sunday about Travel Writing. At 2 pm I set up my laptop, got a pad and pen and a bottle of water. I was ready. I sat back to wait and promptly fell asleep! I woke up at 3:15 having missed the first 15 minutes. Luckily it will be posted online until Tuesday so I can watch it again to see what I missed.

Since this blog pretends to be a travel blog (most of the time) I thought I might get some good tips to improve my content. At the least it got me thinking. I got some good ideas about finding local things to share. So cold or not, the weekend wasn’t a total loss.

 

 

About Dusty Roads

Single female of a "certain age", currently residing in New England with 1 cat. I enjoy traveling and documenting the world around me in words and pictures.
This entry was posted in Boston, flowers, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brrrr Its Cold!

  1. Roxana says:

    You are so brave to even attempt to venture out in these freezing temperatures. Feel better soon 🤧

  2. H.Le says:

    Please get well soon!!! As a blogger beginner I’m also looking for some tips and advices about travel writing…Do you mind sharing the name of that webinar or whatever sites you find useful for yourself? Thanks in advance 🙂

    • Dusty Roads says:

      I’ve subscribed to Great Escape Publishing http://www.greatescapepublishing.com/ for a number of years now. I think they give good advice. I just don’t always follow through. I let life get in the way. They have a new course about blogging that I’m slowly working my way through. I hope to get much more serious about my travel writing, blogging and photos. I want a fall back in case my company suddenly decides my job isn’t needed anymore. Welcome to the world of Travel Blogging and good luck to you. 🙂

      • H.Le says:

        Thank you so much, will check out that site! It’s good to have a plan B in life but even when you don’t need it, blogging is a good way to re-arrange our thoughts and reflect on memories…Anyway best of luck for your job as well as travel writing!

  3. Dreamsvoyager says:

    I hope you are feeling better now! 🙂 How was the Webinar?

    • Dusty Roads says:

      Still sneezing but not as bad. I hope to be back to myself by Friday, just in time for the weekend. The webinar was pretty good. Gave me some good ideas. I just have to think about how they can work for me. The best part is feeling like I have some support figuring all this blogging and traveling stuff out.

      • Dreamsvoyager says:

        Well I’m sure you will recover before weekend! And sounds great that the Webinar was fruitful. I have never attended travel Webinar, maybe I should give it a try if it open doors to new ideas! 🙂

      • Dusty Roads says:

        I tend to get in ruts and having something like the webinar with its new ideas and very encouraging tone is exactly what I need. Can’t speak for anyone else 🙂 I’m sure you will find the things that you need as well

      • Dreamsvoyager says:

        Well when it comes to travel I like anything or everything 😉 I have not tried Webinar till now but I recently starting reaching onto new local travel events or even CS events and all those are also filled with great ideas 🙂

Leave a comment